





Go to COP22

Useful Information about Morocco

Surface Area: 710,850 sq. km

3,5000 km of coastline

Capital: Rabat

Bordering Countries: Algeria to the east and Mauritania to the south

Population: 33.8 million inhabitants (2014 census)

Administrative Organization: 12 regions, 62 provinces, 13 prefectures



Time Zone

GMT

Morocco adds 1 hour during the spring from March to October. In November the time zone is GMT.



Currency

The unit of Moroccan currency is called the moroccan dirham (MAD). Currency exchange is possible in banks and accredited institutions. Automated Teller Machines (ATM) accept all international credit cards.

- Bills: 200 Dh, 100 Dh, 50 Dh, 20 Dh
- Coins: 10 Dh, 5 Dh, 1 Dh, 0.5 Dh, 0.05 Dh



Languages, culture and religions

Morocco has two official languages: Arabic and Amazigh (Berber). Education and administration is conducted in classical Arabic while everyday conversation is in the local Arabic dialect, "darija". Berber is spoken mainly in the Atlas, Souss and Rif.

As a result of Morocco's openness to the rest of the world, French and Spanish are two languages practiced daily by millions of Moroccans. English is also a very common language spoken in the country's international cities such as Marrakech. Casablanca and Tangier.